UC Merced

Frontiers of Biogeography

Title

Aims, open access, editorial board, and officers

Permalink

https://escholarship.org/uc/item/9wz6x6z2

Journal

Frontiers of Biogeography, 2(1)

Author

Editorial Staff, Frontiers of Biogeography

Publication Date

2010

DOI

10.21425/F5FBG12320

Copyright Information

Copyright 2010 by the author(s). This work is made available under the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution License, available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

frontiers of biogeography

the scientific magazine of the International Biogeography Society volume 2, issue 1 - march 2010 ISSN 1948-6596

frontiers of biogeography is published by the **International Biogeography Society**, an international and interdisciplinary society contributing to the advancement of all studies of the geography of nature

frontiers of biogeography is available online at the IBS website: http://www.biogeography.org/html/fb.html

frontiers of biogeography aims to be a forum for biogeographers and a way to disseminate research in biogeography to the general public; our scope includes research updates and reviews, opinions and perspectives, interviews, articles on how to teach, disseminate and/or apply biogeographical knowledge, but not original research results based on data (see editorial instructions); submissions and editorial requests are welcome at frontiersofbiogeography@gmail.com and ibs@mncn.csic.es

frontiers of biogeography uses a publication agreement based on the Creative Commons scheme to ensure that the authors retain full intellectual property (IP) rights on their work, and that this is freely available for any non-commercial use; under this agreement, the IBS retains only the copyright of the journal compilation under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives (CCANCND) license; the authors have full IP over their texts under an universal Creative Commons Attribute License (CCAL), being able to distribute their work (incl. the original PDFs) actively from the day of publication, and passively from one year after (see the full license information on page 29)

you can find information about the **International Biogeography Society** at http://www.biogeography.org/; visit also the **IBS blog** (http://biogeography.blogspot.com/), the **IBS facebook group** (http://biogeography.blogspot.com/), and the **IBS twitter channel** (https://twitter.com/biogeography)

editorial board

editor-in-chief:

Joaquín Hortal - Imperial College London, UK

associate editors:

Antje Ahrends – Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, UK

Jan Beck – University of Basel, Switzerland

<u>Chris Burridge</u> – University of Tasmania, Australia

Richard Field – University of Nottingham, UK

<u>Camilla Fløjgaard</u> – Aarhus University, Denmark <u>Dan Gavin</u> – University of Oregon, USA

Las Harrach Consequentian Internation

<u>Lee Hannah</u> – Conservation International and University of California at Santa Barbara, USA

Frank A. La Sorte – Yale University, USA

<u>Richard Pearson</u> – American Museum of Natural History, USA

Thiago F. Rangel – University of Connecticut, USA

Núria Roura-Pascual – Centre Tecnològic Forestal de Catalunya, Spain

Spyros Sfenthourakis – University of Patras, Greece

advisory board:

Miguel B. Araújo – Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales (CSIC), Spain and Universidade de Évora, Portugal

Michael N Dawson – University of California at Merced, USA

<u>Lawrence R. Heaney</u> – Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, USA

Mark V. Lomolino – State University of New York, USA

International Biogeography Society officers 2009-2011

President: Robert J. Whittaker
President Elect: Lawrence R. Heaney
V. P. for Conferences: Jens-Christian Svenning

V. P. for Public Affairs & Communications: Michael N Dawson

V. P. for Development & Awards: George Stevens

Secretary: <u>Jack Williams</u> Treasurer: <u>Lois F. Alexander</u>

Director-at-large: J. Alexandre F. Diniz-Filho

Director-at-large: Ella Vazquez

First Past President: <u>James H. Brown</u>
Second Past President: <u>Mark V. Lomolino</u>
Third Past President: <u>Brett R. Riddle</u>
Fourth Past President: <u>Vicki Funk</u>



cover: Konza Prairie Biological Station, Flint Hills, NE Kansas, a preserve of native tallgrass prairie. Picture courtesy of Joseph Craine.